On behalf of Musselwhite, Meinhart & Staples posted in blog on Friday, February 16, 2018.
You had a little too much to drink when you went out with your friends, so you decided to wait for a few hours before driving home. Once you felt more like yourself, you got behind the wheel and started on your way home.
Despite trying to be safe, you ended up pulled over by an officer because of a light out on your vehicle. When you spoke to him, he realized you’d been drinking. He gave you a breath test, and you tested .01 percent above the legal limit. Even though you didn’t feel it, you were driving drunk.
What happens to drunk drivers in Kentucky?
Kentucky is harsh on those who choose to drink and drive. In fact, many of the counties are dry counties, where it’s harder to obtain alcohol to begin with.
A first-offense DUI leads to up to $500 in fines and possible imprisonment. You could go to jail for up to 30 days, but the minimum is 48 hours. Sometimes, you can enter a labor program instead, similar to doing community service, which would allow you to avoid a fine or jail time. If this is an aggravated offense, four days in jail are mandatory.
What is an aggravated DUI?
An aggravated DUI includes various acts like driving in the wrong direction, refusing to submit to tests as asked by the officer at the scene, driving drunk with children younger than 12 in your vehicle and going more than 30 mph over the posted speed limit. If you cause a severe injury or death because of being intoxicated, you will also face an aggravated DUI charge.
DUI charges have the potential to threaten your livelihood, ability to drive and finances. If you plan to drink, find a sober way home so that you can stay safe.